college football TV schedule

Don’t you know the first law of physics? Anything that’s fun costs at least eight dollars. – Week 4 College Football TV Schedule

Or in the case of the U.S. College Sports Package, $100.  Or in the case of the Rogers Super Sports Pack, $35.95/month.  I mean we’re not talking about thousands of dollars but it isn’t nothing.  So saying that, I can’t understand how, on Thursday morning, that there isn’t a semblance of a guide up for either specialty pack.  Hell, Bell doesn’t even have information on the games tomorrow night.  Nothing.  NOTHING!!!!   STUPID!!!  (Update: Bell has put some information up but it’s not complete yet.  Still….).  I thought we were past this.  I thought, through three weeks, that everything was going pretty smoothly.  It was nice to see.  I should have known it wouldn’t last.

Anyway, enough of the rant (man I rant a lot on my blog at times).  Let’s get down to business BRAH!  College football TV schedule time and boy do I need to really take a hard look at how I am going to record games this weekend.  My PVR is going to hate me even more.  I’m sure one day it will conspire with the remote control and run away leaving me with nothing.  Anyway…

UPDATE: LSU-Auburn, Cal-ASU, and AF-USU are all showing up for Bell.  Still haven’t seen an updated SSP guide for tomorrow yet.

UPDATE #2: Everything is coming up Milhouse….Uh, I mean everything is up on the guide!

 

Thursday

ROGERS FIBE SAT
#5 Clemson at Georgia Tech 7:30 PM TSN2 X X X

Tonight there is one single, solitary game.  But it could be a big one.  And we can officially consider it a trap game.  Clemson is barreling head long into a showdown with Louisville in Week 5.  They do have to get past the option offense and stingy defense of Georgia Tech.  And remember what they did last year to Florida State.  The Tigers better be careful.

Friday

ROGERS FIBE SAT
Wyoming at Eastern Michigan 7:30 PM CBSSN X X
TCU at SMU 8:00 PM SP X X X

Two games here.  One at the so-called Factory in Ypslianti.  If they get more than 6,000 for that game I would be shocked.  The other is the Battle for the Iron Skillet.  It will be anything but a battle I am assuming.  TCU should mop the floor with the Mustangs even though they are on the road.

Saturday Early

ROGERS FIBE SAT
#13 Florida State at USF 12:00 PM ABC X X X
#11 Wisconsin at #8 Michigan State 12:00 PM BTN X
#12 Georgia at #23 Ole Miss 12:00 PM TSN3 X X X
Iowa at Rutgers 12:00 PM TSN2 X X X
Colorado State at Minnesota 12:00 PM SP X X X
Kent State at #1 Alabama 12:00 PM TSN4/TSN5 X X X
East Carolina at Virginia Tech 12:30 PM WSBK/SP X X X
Syracuse at UConn 1:00 PM CBSSN X X

This is when it kind of starts to break down when it comes to the guide.  Rogers isn’t showing Colorado State-Minnesota yet.  I assume by tonight they will though.  Bell just put this up on the guide (along with most of the other ESPN network games) this morning.  The highlight here is, amazingly enough, on BTN.  How the hell did they get Wisconsin-Michigan State?  The prevailing theory is that because each school has to be on BTN at least twice with one of those games being a conference game, that ESPN allowed BTN to leap-frog them for this game, meaning Wisky doesn’t have to appear on BTN at all the rest of the season (they played Georgia State last week on BTN and almost lost).  If the Badgers win this, then ESPN looks like a genius so there is some thought that they put into this.  Still sucks that I don’t get this game thanks to the pissing match between Rogers and Bell.

Saturday Afternoon

ROGERS FIBE SAT
Penn State at #4 Michigan 3:30 PM ABC X X X
Wake Forest at Indiana 3:30 PM BTN X
#19 Florida at #14 Tennessee 3:30 PM CBS X X X
BYU vs. West Virginia (in Landover) 3:30 PM SP X X X
Pittsburgh at North Carolina 3:30 PM SP X X X
Duke at Notre Dame 3:30 PM NBC X X X
Delaware State at Missouri 4:00 PM SP X X
Vanderbilt at Western Kentucky 4:30 PM CBSSN X X
#18 LSU at Auburn 6:00 PM SP X X X

Florida-Tennessee and LSU-Auburn are the two games that highlight this part of the day.  Two games showing up on Bell but not Rogers yet (denoted by an asterisk (*)).  I don’t see LSU-Auburn on any guide yet though.  I find this odd.  I mean the start time itself is odd but what can you do.  As I have said before (numerous times so bear with me), staggered start times are awesome…when I can sit down all day and just watch and flip channels at my leisure.  When I have to PVR things, holy shit does it become a gongshow.  But I get creative.  Don’t you worry.  I didn’t think you were worried to be honest.  OK I’ll shut up now.

Saturday Primetime

ROGERS FIBE SAT
UCF at FIU 7:00 PM beIn Sports X X X
#6 Houston at Texas State 7:00 PM SP X X X
#20 Nebraska at Northwestern 7:30 PM BTN X
Oklahoma State at #16 Baylor 7:30 PM FOX X X X
South Carolina at Kentucky 7:30 PM SP X X
#7 Stanford at UCLA 8:00 PM ABC X X X
#3 Louisville at Marshall 8:00 PM CBSSN X X
#17 Arkansas vs. #10 Texas A&M (in Arlington) 9:00 PM SP X X X

A bunch of good-but-not-great games dots the primetime landscape.  Stanford-UCLA, OSU-Baylor, and Arkansas-TAMU are all good games.  But compared to what we saw in Weeks 1 and 3, they aren’t exactly groundbreaking.  Just as a reminder, I rated this week 7th out of 13 for the college football year.  So smack dab in the middle.  So far I have lucked out with the Saturdays I can focus on college football and the ones I can’t.  This will not continue throughout the year and I know that.  Anyway, Houston-TSU and Arkansas-TAMU (at this point) don’t appear on the Rogers guides.  Yeah…

Saturday Late Night

ROGERS FIBE SAT
California at Arizona State 10:00 PM SP X X X
Air Force at Utah State 10:15 PM SP X X X

Neither of these games are appearing anywhere.  I don’t know if it’s a glitch in the Bell schedule or what because they show some games but not others.  I will keep updating this situation as games start to appear.  I also need this info for my crafty recording techniques.  I feel so smart…with this.  Some other things, not so much.

HEY, HEY!  It’s the games of the week!

#11 Wisconsin at #8 Michigan State (Noon, BTN) – I have outlined above how this probably occurred.  Rogers subscribers, feel lucky (for once) since Bell subscribers don’t get this game.  Anyway, a big game here with huge implications.  Michigan State loses and there goes my last CFP pick (by Week 4…man I suck).  Wisky loses and they will have a tough time getting back to the top of the Big Ten West.  Should be good…for those that can watch it.

#17 Arkansas vs. #10 Texas A&M (in Arlington) (9:00, specialty pack) – To be honest I still don’t think of either the Razorbacks or the Aggies as Top 20 teams.  Not being a dick, I just think it has more to do with the volatility of the teams that have been in the Top 20 rather than these two teams themselves.  Well, one is going to drop in the rankings that is for sure.  And also, this is approximately the 27th of 84 neutral-site games held at JerryWorld this season so the home advantage won’t be in play….bahahahahaha, who am I kidding, it will be 75% Aggie fans at least.

#12 Georgia at #23 Ole Miss (Noon, TSN3) – On the other end of the spectrum, I figured both these teams might even be Top 10 by this point.  Problem is the Rebels vomited away two huge leads and don’t look like a contender for anything other than the Liberty Bowl berth and UGA looked positively pedestrian last week against Mizzou.

#5 Clemson at Georgia Tech (Thursday, 7:30, TSN2) – TRAP GAME!!!!! (as I mentioned above)

Penn State at #4 Michigan (3:30, ABC) – Speaking of trap games, don’t sleep on the Nittany Lions in this one.  They’ve been a tough out even when they are in down years and this year will be no exception since PSU doesn’t exactly look like world-beaters these days.  The Fighting Harbuaghs should get through this one but they have to continue to look impressive to keep in the Top 5 (and, you know, keep winning games).

#18 LSU at Auburn (6:00, specialty pack) – This is in this odd timeslot thanks to the World Cup of Hockey.  Funny, this tournament has taken a back seat to Blue Jays highlights and NFL highlights so far.  So yeah, I wouldn’t talk about the “importance” of this tournament since it is clearly not important enough.  Anyway, the Gus Bus is going to get another flat tire in this one if they can’t pull out what might essentially be a miracle.

Gambling and Stuff…and Things

OK no mostly gambling.  Here are a few picks I would have made if I actually put money down on these games:

Clemson over Georgia Tech

Michigan State over Wisconsin

Ole Miss over Georgia

Michigan over Penn State

Florida over Tennessee

LSU over Auburn

Baylor over Oklahoma State

Stanford over UCLA

Texas A&M over Arkansas

Northwestern over Nebraska (upset of the week)

There you go.  Now you can plan your Saturday.  Tomorrow I will have the NFL schedule up.  Remember, tonight it’s Houston and New England in what would be a pretty huge game except it isn’t Tom Brady and not even Jimmy Garoppolo…it’s Jacoby Brissett.  Should be interesting at least.  Enjoy the games everyone!

5 thoughts on “Don’t you know the first law of physics? Anything that’s fun costs at least eight dollars. – Week 4 College Football TV Schedule

    1. I hope Bell and Rogers can quit it with all the posturing crap and make it so fans can get whatever channels they want to get their college football fix. The fact that at least half the country can’t get the biggest game of the week is dumb.

Leave a Reply

