College Football

Updated CFP projections…since the previous ones were obliterated

cfb-playoff-logo

I figured it was time to update the bowl projections from way-way-too-early to just way-too-early.  Once I was finished with the exercise I realized it was so utterly futile and looked like shit.  Even I can’t figure out what to make of the new bowl projections.  So that can wait for another time.  For now, I will just focus on the College Football Playoff and the New Year’s Six and the shitty job The Committee has in store for them.

The Top Four

First off all I had to determine the top four.  The fact that this in and of itself is brutally difficult means the rest is going to be way worse (and it was).  So here are my top four:

  1. Auburn
  2. Florida State
  3. Ole Miss
  4. Notre Dame

This would mean the following bowl matchups would be set for the semi-finals:

Rose Bowl – Auburn vs. Notre Dame

Sugar Bowl – Florida State vs. Ole Miss

Many had Mississippi State in their top 4.  I think many people have forgotten about Notre Dame and the fact that they beat a good Stanford team this past weekend.  Not to take anything away from the Bulldogs.  They could easily be inserted in the 3 or 4 spot and no one would bat an eye.

The rest of the New Year’s Six would go like this:

Peach Bowl – Michigan State vs. Alabama

Fiesta Bowl – Oklahoma vs. Oregon

Orange Bowl – Clemson vs. Mississippi State

Cotton Bowl – Baylor vs. East Carolina

I still hate the fact that tie-ins like the one for the Orange Bowl exist in this new era of college football.  I have always believed there should be a rider attached to any of this.  If you aren’t in the top 20 (or 25…whichever you prefer), that spot becomes an at-large spot.  Right now East Carolina sits at #19 and Clemson is unranked.  Georgia Tech is #22 but I am sure Clemson would surpass them by the end of the season.  Including them, while being inclusive (which is nice) cheapens the idea that the cream of the crop are the only ones to make the New Year’s Six.  I don’t mind ECU at this point but I would almost prefer TCU being in the mix rather than Clemson.  Also, you will notice I have four SEC teams among the 12.  I am not an SEC fan by any stretch of the imagination but I defy someone to come up with a logical argument to keep any of these four teams out.  As for my picks in the semis, based on the way they are playing, I would have to go with Auburn and Ole Miss meeting in another All-SEC championship (which should raise the ire of a lot of people) with Auburn taking that final step and winning the title after last year’s close loss.

Tomorrow is college football schedule time and by then most of the games should be set (even if the guides say they aren’t).  NFL schedule for Thursday and I am feeling like the Bo Pelini of ProLine Pools.  Third straight week with three losses.  Most people would kill for that luck but in the end it wins me a whole lot of sweet fuck all.  I have never seen anyone win a ProLine Pools NFL week with more than one pick wrong so I got my work cut out for me.  Wish me luck.  Or don’t.  Doesn’t matter either way.

2 thoughts on “Updated CFP projections…since the previous ones were obliterated

  1. I think you may be underselling Clemson. They are a completely different team with Watson at QB. He hardly played against Georgia and despite losing they really manhandled Florida State (at FSU) even with the handicap of Stoudt playing a couple of series (I know, Winston wasn’t playing – but still). I think they run the table from here and drill South Carolina in the finale. Of course they could always Clemson. 🙂

    1. Yeah something tells me they will get in but they will lose the finale to South Carolina because Clemson will do a Clemson. Means they won’t be a top 15 team at that point (the whole “what have you done for me lately” polling system). Things could (and probably will) definitely change in the next few weeks to make Clemson look like a top 10 team.

Leave a Reply

