College Football · NFL

Final Mock NFL Draft…Version 3? Sure, let’s call it Version 3.

First off, long time no see.  I haven’t posted in over a month.  Nothing much to talk about.  And I really am getting sick of the spring game hype.  First off, very few people actually watch these glorified scrimmages.  Second, Canadians (other than those who can get the Big Ten Network) will see all of none of the games.  Finally, I think Pitt (and perhaps a couple other schools) were right to just cancel the damn thing.  The potential for injury is high in a game situation and why do that to a potential starter or blue-chipper?  Soon enough I will start getting my college football preview magazines (Phil Steele of course along with one or two others) and predicting the season.  I have already started mapping out what the college football television schedule will look like for us here in the Great White North (just sung the MacKenzie brothers theme song 🙂  ).  I know this will change as the season goes on but it’s nice to have a good idea of what we will see.  Still waiting word on how the SEC Network will play out in Canada.  My hope is that it is added to the specialty packs (along with games on ESPNews) for this season.  It would give us a fairly full complement of games each week.  Now for those pesky FOX network games…

Alright, my final kick at the can at this draft.  This is my final mock 2014 NFL draft.  Version 3.  Or C.  Whatever.

Anyway, this won’t be correct.  I’m sure of it.  Trades will take place.  My only hope is that the trade doesn’t matter to the player I selected at that slot.  So here we go:

Pick No. Team Predicted Selection
1 HOU Jadeveon Clowney, DE, South Carolina
2 STL Greg Robinson, OT, Auburn
3 JAX Blake Bortles, QB, UCF
4 CLE Johnny Manziel, QB, Texas A&M
5 OAK Sammy Watkins, WR, Clemson
6 ATL Jake Matthews, OT, Texas A&M
7 TB Mike Evans, WR, Texas A&M
8 MIN Teddy Bridgewater, QB, Louisville
9 BUF Eric Ebron, TE, North Carolina
10 DET Justin Gilbert, CB, Oklahoma State
11 TEN Anthony Barr, OLB, UCLA
12 NYG Khalil Mack, OLB, Buffalo
13 STL Ha Ha Clinton-Dix, FS, Alabama
14 CHI Aaron Donald, DT, Pittsburgh
15 PIT Darqueze Dennard, CB, Michigan State
16 DAL Kony Ealy, DT, Missouri
17 BAL Taylor Lewan, OT, Michigan
18 NYJ Odell Beckham Jr., WR, LSU
19 MIA Zack Martin, OT, Notre Dame
20 AZ Derek Carr, QB, Fresno State
21 GB Jimmie Ward, SS, Northern Illinois
22 PHI Ryan Shazier, OLB, Ohio State
23 KC Marqise Lee, WR, USC
24 CIN C.J. Mosley, ILB, Alabama
25 SD Louis Nix III, DT, Notre Dame
26 CLE Brandin Cooks, WR, Oregon State
27 NO Dee Ford, DE, Auburn
28 CAR Morgan Moses, OT, Virginia
29 NE David Yankey, OG, Stanford
30 SF Kyle Fuller, CB, Virginia Tech
31 DEN Cyrus Kouandjio, OT, Alabama
32 SEA Jace Amaro, TE, Texas Tech

As you can see, I finally launched myself off the “Bortles to Houston” bandwagon.  There seems to be just too much interest on the Texans’ part in Jadeveon Clowney.  I hope for their sake he doesn’t turn out to be a bust as it could haunt this franchise for a long time if he is.  Despite what most draft experts think, I still believe Bortles will be the first QB off the board as he heads upstate to Jacksonville.  I don’t believe Bortles will make it to #8, nor do I believe the Vikes would pass up Bridgewater for Derek Carr.  To me it seems Justin Gilbert, Morgan Moses, and Ryan Shazier have moved up the list the most with many, including myself, putting Gilbert in the top 10.  A potential drop for one of the Blocking Kouandjio brothers could mean a huge pick up for Denver if he does drop to #31 and into the Broncos’ lap.  Many believe he will fall right out of the first round and it wouldn’t surprise me at all if that happened.

As for potential trades, there is no way the Texans part with the #1 pick.  Too risky I think.  I could see Atlanta or Tampa Bay trade out of the top 10, or perhaps see Arizona trade into the top 10 to get a better QB (although I think Derek will be much better at the NFL level than his brother David ever was).  This has been one of the weirdest buildups to a draft considering there still isn’t a consensus #1 pick and I have seen as many as 24 different players in the top 10 in various mock drafts.  It means it should be a bit more exciting since we really don’t know what is going to happen until it happens.

I have my PVR set.  I have chosen the NFL Network since I believe their coverage is slightly better than ESPN’s (plus I mildly prefer the analysts on NFLN over the ESPN ones).  Looking forward to this since I’m anxious for football of any kind to start soon (except Arena Football, that stuff is borderline awful…although I guess it did give us Kurt Warner in a way).

Update: Instead of doing a full post on this, I will just add this blurb here.  TSN is going from two to FIVE CHANNELS in the fall!  Holy crap!  Will they be undoubtedly filled with useless garbage?  Perhaps.  However, one of the notes on this announcement is that they will show more ESPN programming, including college sports, which, invariably, means college football.  So we may see more college football on TSN this season than any season in the past which is great for Canadian NCAA football fans.

2 thoughts on “Final Mock NFL Draft…Version 3? Sure, let’s call it Version 3.

  1. Hey man. Great to see that you are back posting. I have to say that Phil Steele has the BEST College Football Preview magazine (and #1 NFL Preview & Fantasy Football Guide) on the market. Once again this year, I don’t think that they will be selling their magazines anywhere in Canadian stores so you will have to order them from their office in Cleveland or make a trip across the border to pick them up. I am with you in hoping that the SEC Network games & those that end up on ESPNEWS will be available on Bell’s College Sports package and the Rogers Super Sports Pak. It looks like we are S.O.L. on the Fox Sports One / Fox Sports Net package of College Football games unless the CRTC takes the results of the Choicebook survey seriously and decides to implement wholesale changes to the Canadian television industry.

    The Texans, will they keep the #1 trade pick or trade it down for more draft choices and/or a package of players. I am with you and hopefully if they do decide to draft Clowney, he goes on to achieve success in Houston. In Minnesota, I will take any quarterback except for Johnny Manziel. The Vikings are my favorite NFL team and they need to draft the right quarterback leading up to the opening of their new stadium in 2016. Without the right quarterback, they will be far behind Green Bay, Chicago & Detroit in the NFC North for many years to come.

    1. Thanks man. Felt a bit weird not posting for a while but I don’t want to post about just anything.

      As for the Phil Steele magazine I have ordered my copies of the college and NFL previews. Easily the best preview magazine for both. I have to wait a bit later than the college release so that I can get them both at the same time and save on shipping (otherwise it will cost a lot more to ship). They aren’t selling the mag in Canada at all which sucks but what are you going to do.

      I’m pretty sure the SEC Network and ESPNews games will be on the Super Sports Pak/U.S. College Sports Package this season. It would make no sense to not get the SEC Network games since we already get a 12:25 game on Peachtree TV that is usually simulcast on the specialty packs as well. Plus, they are, in essence, taking a few games away from the ESPN networks (45 games this season). Yeah there’s no chance on FOX networks this coming season. I can only hope there is a change in the CRTC from that survey sent out. I would be willing to pay a premium per channel to get the channels I want and not have to include all the ones I don’t (which would be at least 80% of them as of right now).

      I think the Texans will not trade the #1 pick for a sole reason…if the #1 pick becomes a superstar it looks bad on a franchise that, other than a 2-year span, has been mediocre to downright terrible in their history.

      Manziel will be gone, almost certainly to the Browns, by the time the Vikes pick. If Bortles is somehow available, I think Minnesota should grab him and quick. I believe he is definitely better than Bridgewater. The way the Combine went, it is starting to look like Carr might be better than Teddy Ballgame as well. If Bridgewater falls out of the first round, look for probably a fairly significant drop to the third round or so.

Leave a Reply

