NFL

NFL Predictions Part Uno (The Run to Mediocrity)

Time for some predictions, NFL-style. My college predictions will come later on this month as they are a lot harder to do and people seem to get a lot more flack for those rather than NFL picks (from what I have seen on various message boards).

You saw in an earlier post how well I did this past season and how utterly poorly I did the year before. I’d take average this time around. Mediocre even. So no, I will not, under any circumstances, pick a Browns-Lions Super Bowl. Nor will I say the 49ers are destined for the #1 overall pick next year. Anything in between though is fair game.

To do this little exercise, I “played out” the entire NFL schedule, choosing winners for every game. Then I tweaked that method a bit when I realized I had a six-way tie for last overall (at a record of 3-13) and 14 teams with at least 10 wins. I will only put a summary here of what I determined what I believe will happen. And if it all does happen I will kick myself for not going to Vegas with this info.

Let’s start with divisional standings. For the most part, that should be relatively easy to figure out save a few teams who will move one spot up or down inside their division. Wild-card teams denoted with an *.

AFC

    East

New England
Miami
Buffalo
NY Jets

    North

Cincinnati
Baltimore*
Pittsburgh
Cleveland

    South

Houston
Indianapolis*
Tennessee
Jacksonville

    West

Denver
Kansas City
Oakland
San Diego

NFC

    East

NY Giants
Washington
Dallas
Philadelphia

    North

Green Bay
Chicago*
Minnesota
Detroit

    South

Atlanta
New Orleans
Carolina
Tampa Bay

    West

San Francisco
Seattle*
St. Louis
Arizona

Next post I will go through explanations and playoff picks and try not to look like a complete idiot (see the remark about the Browns-Lions Fan-fucking-tastic Super Bowl earlier on).

Leave a Reply

